Home > Uncategorized > I’m still not on Facebook…am I being left behind?

I’m still not on Facebook…am I being left behind?

This blog entry was written by one of our associates, who does not have a Facebook account.  I don’t want you to be confused since this blog entry will appear on… Facebook.  He is not very technology savvy… but he was able to peck this blog entry out with his two index fingers on a qwerty keyboard.

I first realized I had a problem when I saw the Sorkin-Fincher collaboration “The Social Network.”  I was actually surprised that the movie centered around a great story and compelling characters, and not the revolutionary technology itself.  And I realized why it didn’t – Facebook had become so integrated in most people’s lives that the digital connection to friends and family was just another one of life’s mediums to relate to ones fellow man.  As one may expect, many of the jokes and references went over my head.  My sister had to explain much of the verbiage, and I think I missed major plot points just trying to figure out that poking or tagging were not criminal offenses.  You see, I am not on Facebook.

It’s partly because I don’t grasp the benefits, and partly because I don’t feel like “catching up” with so many friends of Christmas past.   Facebook is also the wild west full of miscreants and pedophiles.  Can my computer get hacked through my Facebook?  Can my identity be stolen?  Every day I read news about Facebook – at least for their part they do seem to be policing themselves.  CNN.com ran a story that Facebook is actively booting users under fourteen years old.  http://www.cnn.com/2011/TECH/social.media/03/23/facebook.underage.users/index.html?iref=allsearch#. This certainly is an improvement.  So what is really left to be afraid of?  Am I foregoing valuable marketing opportunities to avoid a few awkward conversations?  Is Facebook one day going to be like email – only grandparents will be afraid to use it?  Am I missing out on a hybridized cultural-technology revolution?  It looks like that might be the case.

The Sacramento Business Journal reported that, despite the LinkedIn’s and the Twitter’s of the world, Facebook still commands the lion’s share of the social media universe.  http://www.bizjournals.com/sacramento/news/2011/03/25/facebook-captures-64-of-social-media.html?surround=etf&ana=e_article#. Such statistics further corroborate the fear that not getting on this bus will leave me behind.  I do not think many would argue that LinkedIn provides a more professional experience and Twitter offers a more instant, portable communication in the smart-phone world we live in.  But Facebook seems to cover all bases.  It keeps college friends in touch, keeps grandma well supplied with new pictures, it keeps marketers aware of the needs of their  target audience, and, as of late, keeps revolutions informed,  well organized, and inspired.  Is Facebook to be given credit of galvanizing the young minds of an entire section of the world?  Who knows.  But it’s at least enough to tell me I better get on board, or I might not hear about the revolution.

 

The author is a an associate at the at Radoslovich | Krogh, PC Attorneys law firm.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Corey
    March 30, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Yes. It is time to take the plunge into Facebook. Don’t worry, the water’s warm!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

